Institute for the Study and Monitoring of the Santorini Volcano


The Institute for the Study and Monitoring of the Santorini Volcano (I.S.M.O.SA.V.) is a non-profit organization, founded in the summer of 1995, whose primary aim is to continue to maintain the operation of the Volcano Observatory and the monitoring networks, which were established under a research program funded by the E.U (1993-1995).

Its main target is the promotion of volcanological research on the island, more specifically how to achieve the most accurate assessment possible regarding volcanic phenomena, and the increased probability of precise forecasting of any future volcanic eruption.

The Institute provides Santorini with a complete monitoring system, which is crucial for the timely prediction of a possible volcanic eruption, and also its members undertake the responsibility of disproving any false statements or rumors regarding a negative state of the volcano.

Amongst the founding members, ISMOSAV includes the majority of Greek scientists who participated in the above mentioned E.U. program, members of the Santorini civil authorities and members of the public interested in the volcanic phenomena on Santorini island group.


Photo: Konstantina Sidiropoulou

Board of Directors

The board of directors consists of: 

    • Horonary President of ISMOSAV

      Michael Fytikas

      Emeritus Professor of Geothermics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

    • President

      George Vougioukalakis

      Dr. Volcanologist, HSGME Reasecher, Hellenic Survey of Geology and Mineral Exploration

    • Vice President
      Anastasios  Nikolas Zorzos
      Nikolaos Zorzos

      Former Mayor of Thira

    • General Secretary
      Konstantinos Papazachos
      Constantinos Papazachos

      Professor of App. Geophysics and Seismology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

    • Treasurer
      Dimitrios Panagiotopoulos
      Spyridon Pavlides

      Emeritus Professor of Geology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

    • Member
      Andreas Vlachos

      Urology Surgeon, Santorini

    • Member
      Nikolaos Christou

      Geologist of Thira District

    • Member
      Theodoros Laopoulos

      Professor of Electronics and Computers, School of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

    • Alternate Member
      Eleytherios Roussos

      Bussinessman-Resident of Thira Island

    • Alternate Member
      Maria Papachristou

      Laboratory Teaching Staff,
      School of Geology, Aristotle
      University of Thessaloniki


Scientific Committee

The responsibility for the proper operation of the Volcanological Observatory and the monitoring networks belongs to the Scientific Committee of ISMOSAV, which consists of:

        • George Vougioukalakis Dr. Volcanologist, HSGME Reasecher, Manager of Geochemical and Thermal Monitoring Networks
        • Contstantinos Papazachos, Professor of Seismology A.U.Th., Manager of Seismological Network
        • Christos Pikridas, Professor of Geodesy and Topography A.U.Th., Manager of GPS/GNSS Network
        • Spyridon Pavlides, Emeritus Professor of Geology, A.U.Th., Responsible for monitoring ground deformations using Lidar, Drone and tidal network
        • Michael FOumelis, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Geology A.U.Th., Manager of Satellite Monitoring